Frugal Film Project – working in projects.

This is my first year joining the FFP – for those that don’t know it’s a largely Facebook based open project where you use one film and one camera for a year posting results each month.

For me it was an opportunity to use my Nettar 6×9 folder with 35mm film to give roughly a 3:1 aspect ratio.

Finding a cheap film is an oxymoron these days but Kentmere 400 sort of fits the bill.

With some metal adapters for the 135 film and the red window taped I know this works well and makes lovely sharp images so a perfect excuse to get to know the film well over a year and force me to get out and expose some frames and, almost if not more importantly… make prints.

Around the Barbican area

Making darkroom prints is my passion and so it only makes sense to make this project tangible by making prints but then what ? Ok scanning becomes easier for social media and blogging but what else?

A years project in a box

Being an analogue chap why not type up thoughts and notes to accompany the images. File them in a 5×7 storage box then we have a record, a story if you like of the year. It gives me an excuse to use my typewriter also.

My lovely Traveller typewriter

For me working and photographing with set goals or projects helps me focus and motivates me – I understand not everyone is like this and that’s ok of course. The primary motivation is to enjoy this wonderful craft and have some fun.

Here are a few more images from the FFP to date

Thanks for taking the time to read and look.

Stay safe.

1 Comment

  1. An enjoyable read my friend and some fabulous images too. I tried (and failed) the FFP last year … you’ve inspired me to try again in 2025

    Best Regards

    Dave

    Like

Leave a comment